The aims of the website are mainly to focus on the function and activities of The Environmental and Food Special Interest Group (EFASIG) of the BMSS with arrangement of meetings at intervals.

Since the formation of the SIG, meetings have been held in 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016 with WWEM in 2014 and 2016.

EFASIG2017 was held on July 19, 2017 at The Auditorium, Analytical Research & Development,  in Southampton, hosted by Dr Chris Wright.

A further meeting involving EFASIG was held on November 21 & 22, 2018, at The International Centre, Telford, and formed part of the WWEM2018 Conference and Exhibitions, in an Analytical Developments Conference in concert with The RSC Water Science Forum and the Separation Science Group . 

The EFASIG2019 meeting was held at Manchester Metropolitan University on Wednesday, July 17, 2019. An e-abstract booklet is available to delegates and can be accessed on request to the organisers.

The EFASIG2020 meeting was to be held at the University of Leicester, College Court on July 23, 2020 but has been postponed and will be re-covened when possible, following discussions of the organising group.

Current meeting arrangements:

The organising group are communicating remotely by the go to meeting facility to discuss the organisation of a virtualEFASIG2020 meeting, provisional schedule, May 2020. The website has a page devoted to VEFASIG2020, which is designed to act as a test and backstop for this meeting and to enable registered members to access abstracts, presentations and the scientific programme, which have been uploaded for registered members by the administrator.  

Please note that you will need to log in to access the test page for VEFASIG2020

The meeting arrangements and details, including registration and scientific programme will be available on line at when the meeting group have finalised the event.  It is anticipated that Zoom or equivalent medium will be used to enable registered members to attend the presentations at intervals to be decided.

The EFASIG meeting organising group

Dr David Megson (MMU), Dr Michael Wilde (Leicester), Dr Kathy Ridgway (Anatune), Dr Caroline Gauchotte-Lindsay (Glasgow) and Dr Peter J Baugh (EFASIG).